top of page
RSS Feed

An Unexpected gift of $1,000!

It was the week before Christmas when one of my steady Patients sons's casually gave me an envelope before he left his mothers bedside. I had NO IDEA! I mean NO IDEA! I was thinking a Xmas card perhaps, or maybe even a gift card.

Something told me to close the door to the room where my Patient was residing when I get ready to open it. So that is what I did! I opened the envelope, and pulled out a check for $1,000!!! And this was in addition to my regular paycheck! After keeping my composure and holding my excitement in, I waited until I thought that my Patients son was available to speak over the phone so that I can call and thank him. I told him that he did not have to give me anything extra. His reply was, This is what we do every year, thank you for taking great care of mom!

Later that evening, my Patients other Caretaker called me. I could barely get hello out as I heard , "Did you get your surprise yet?"..I got mine yesterday! They do this every year. Then she said loudly, "YOU MUST HAVE GOTTEN THE $1,000 BECAUSE I GOT $800! LAST YEAR I RECEIVED $1,000 AND THE OTHER CARETAKER RECEIVED $800.00!...That's okay, I know why. Probably because......She went on to tell me about a couple of incidents that the family members knew about in which she felt that she could have taken more precaution with our Patient.

I had been serving and caring for my Patient for about 7 months, I was still considered new, but I was making a big impact in her life. I knew it, she knew it, and all of the staff on her particular floor, and on the other halls as well knew and recognized my above and beyond care in which I displayed each time that I was with her by doing these 4 things:

1. It usually took 2 people to transfer my Patient from the bed to the wheelchair and vice versa, but I found a way to communicate with her (as she did not respond or talk much) and observed that she had a good amount of strength opposite to her weak side. Though I am petite, and she was a good sized woman, I used proper body mechanics that I learned from Physical Therapy training and transferred her with ease.

2. The Nursing staff said that they did not even know that my Patient could talk or respond with her voice until I came to work with her.

3. I took my Patient to activities even if she did not participate and made sure she got fresh air.

4. I noticed things that I felt should be implemented in caring for her and did them.

I could have just easily sat there with her because she was such an easy Patient, but I didn't.

Patients and their loved ones sense when your heart is pure towards caring for for them. When the family is not able to be there 24/7, it is you who they trust and depend on. You do not have to overdo it, just be yourself, be professional, and use your intuition and instincts. You will be rewarded in many ways-even ways beyond a thousand dollars and finances.

Share your Extraordinary Care story below of an unexpected gift of thank you from a Patient and/or their Family Member!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page